Wales Writer in Residence Longlist announced

During what has been a tricky and unprecedented period it has been a joy to read the submissions for the Wales Writer in Residence 2020. Thank you to all who entered. The standard was extremely high this year.

After careful consideration we’re delighted to announce the twenty writers who have been longlisted who will now proceed to the next stage of the initiative.

  • Anna-Lisa Jenaer
  • Brennig Hayden
  • Cameron Loxdale
  • Carol Vine
  • Carys Lewis
  • Catherine Dyson
  • Connor Allen
  • Corey Terrett
  • Faebian Averies
  • Greg Glover
  • Jon Berry
  • Katie Elin-Salt
  • Lowri Jenkins
  • Neil Williams
  • Rachel Harper
  • Rebekah Harrison
  • Rhys Edwards
  • Rhys Warrington
  • Sarah Louise Madden
  • Zia Holloway

The final shortlist will be announced in early October with the winner announced at the beginning of November.

We’re also delighted to share the news of our guest judge this year is Welsh actor and producer Rakie Ayola, most recently seen in BBC’s Anthony, Noughts and Crosses, and National Theatre Wales’ On Bear Ridge.

Rakie will be joined on the judging panel by NTW’s new Artistic Director Lorne Campbell, Radio 4 Drama Commissioner Alison Hindell, Development Executive at BBC Studios Wales Jenna Robins, and BBC Writersroom Wales Development Producer Helen Perry.

This prestigious scheme, now in its second year, offers the winning writer the opportunity to develop their writing skills over a portfolio of media; stage, sound and screen.

During their year-long residency, the winning writer will receive over £12,000, get to spend six months working with the BBC, including time with BBC Studios, followed by six months with NTW. They’re given access to industry expertise and support to develop their ideas and talent alongside a BBC-broadcast credit in the form of a BBC Radio 4 drama commission.

View Shows Arrow icon Support Us Arrow icon
Font Resize